NSGConnect

• 1.  How the End of Affirmative Action Is Affecting the GC Application Process

Posted 09-25-2023 11:10:00 AM

Hi all – I wanted to open a conversation about Affirmative Action.

I am by no means a legal expert and I am not affiliated with any particular genetic counseling program or admissions committee, but I am a mentor in many spaces and an advocate for setting prospective students up for success.

The current application cycle has begun and I recently found out that in addition to the federal ruling against Affirmative Action, there are even stricter state policies emerging that are directly impacting GC programs. 

These policies, in certain states, include the prohibition of the words "diversity, equity, and inclusion" (or pretty much any synonym you can think of) in program materials, websites, mission and vision statements – all of which contradict the current ACGC Standards of Accreditation. Beyond that, some of these bills are going on to discuss if/how programs can: offer DEI training to supervisors and students; create/maintain diversity-focused scholarships, stipends, and Match tracks; and most importantly how they talk ("oral diversity statements") about their work to promote diversity, equity, inclusion, justice, and belonging within the program.

I have ideas on an individual level regarding what I and other unaffiliated genetic counselors can potentially do, but I recognize that to organize larger-scale efforts to support prospective students, our colleagues within GC programs, and the DEI work that has been done in our field up until this point, will be a grassroots effort - if those efforts are needed at all.